One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

I’ve been a bad blogger! April 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 10:25 am

Hi family and friends! I know I’ve been a bad blogger as of late. I do so well when Brian is deployed, and then when he’s home it falls by the wayside. Brian is in Albuquerque for the week, so it’s obviously time for a new post 🙂

We spent last weekend in the back yard. I know that when we moved in, our back yard looked pretty nice. Now that we have 2 dogs and had a trampoline covering most of the grass for about 2 years, there was no longer any grass. Then, after we had the yard sprayed for weeds, there was only sand. It was super trashy looking, and not at all a space that we were wanting to use. We got rid of our trampoline, it was a very sad day for Sophie. She really enjoyed that thing. Hopefully, she’ll enjoy doing cartwheels in the soft grass that we just put down. We sodded the yard on Saturday, a full day of labor. It is SO rewarding to start the day with a yard (I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture to show the beginning of the day) that looks like crap, and end it with a sanctuary!!

I need to put some flowers in some pots, but other than that, I’m just so in love with our back yard again! I am not in love with having to take the dogs out front, on their leashes, to go to the bathroom every time they need to go. I’m sure the next 2 weeks will go quickly and the sod will be rooted and they can go in the back again.

Emma had a fun day at VPK last Friday. My kids are so fearless. I am a complete wuss. I love that they get to experience the things they do at school, with me not there to project my fears onto them.

This is Selena the Red Rat Snake … EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKK!!! Emma is clearly having a blast! Her favorite animal of the day, which she didn’t get to hold, was Walter the Chinchilla. Nonie comes to their school every year. She even does birthday parties.

The girls have been keeping me busy. They have gymnastics on Monday and soccer on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. I have us a little overbooked for the next month and a half. They are having fun with soccer, but they both enjoy gymnastics the most. It looks like (per her coaches) Sophie is going to be ready to start competing next year. She is super excited. She’ll bump up to 2 hour and a 1/2 practices a week during the summer.

Tyler has been busy trying to chauffeur us around whenever possible. He is really liking sitting in the drivers seat. He’s actually doing a really good job, but I still am getting more gray hair.

Sophie decided that she was ready to get her ears pierced. I was very clear with her about what would happen and that it hurts. She FLIPS OUT when she has to get shots. I let her know that it would be like getting a shot in each ear. She still wanted to do it.

She did not shed a tear. She is so proud of her newly pierced ears that she has wanted me to fix her hair every day, so her ears show. I will admit that I had more tears in my eyes than she did. I was so proud of what a big girl she was, and once again, she’s shown me how when she really wants something, that she can really put the drama aside. She’s been great about cleaning and twisting them, and has not complained at bedtime.

Alright, I’ve spent enough time on the computer this morning. I hope this post finds you all well and enjoying spring. The heat has kicked right in here, it’s been right around 80 and was quite humid over the weekend. I can’t complain, it’s been beautiful and the flowers are all blooming. I wish it would stay like this all through the summer!

We love and miss you all very much! ~Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

