One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Homemade laundry detergent and dishwashing detergent!! January 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 4:28 pm

Through hours of pouring over boards and “pins” on Pinterest, I had found “recipes” for homemade detergents. I read the reviews and they seemed really good. I didn’t necessarily feel the need to make my own because of what is in them, rather because of the cost of them. A year of double house payments (OUCHIE!!) makes you reevaluate what you are spending your money on, and the reviews of these items told me that this is one place I could be saving us a little money. I don’t care what kind of dishwasher detergent I use, as long as it gets the crud off. But, I DO care about my laundry detergent … I’m a Tide girl, through and through. It’s always worked very well for me, and I like the smell. SO … would I like a different “homemade” detergent?

Here’s where I started:

Sew Much Ado – Homemade Laundry Detergent

(you can click on “Sew Much Ado…” above for the recipe and all of the reviews and comments)

Here’s what I used (per the recipe):

1 bar Fels-Naptha bar soap
1 cup Borax
1 cup Washing Soda
1/4 cup Baking Soda

I also added 1 cup of OxyClean per another blog I had read that had a much larger recipe, using the whole boxes. You grate the bar of laundry soap (NOT body soap!), I used the smallest shred on my cheese grater, but next time would also put it in the food chopper to make it finer still. Mix it all up and you are good to go. You use ONE OR TWO TABLESPOONS … that’s it!

I tested it out right away on a batch of towels that had been used on the dogs. Then, just after my mother in-law walked in the door, I put one of the still wet, just out of the wash, dog towels under her nose and asked if it smelled clean. It did!! YAY! SUCCESS!! It really did smell clean, not really perfumey, just clean smelling.

A note: If you wash in cold, the bar shreds will not dissolve. You have to start the water (I use hot water until the soap is all dissolved – and I really never wash in cold, I don’t feel like it gets your clothes clean, just my “thing”), add the detergent, and then add the clothes. Also, especially here in the humid south, your detergent may clump up or harden quickly. This is talked about a bit in the reviews. People say to save up the little silica packets that come in so many things and put them in with your detergent. Or use white rice inside some kind of mesh or cheesecloth, apparently that also absorbs the moisture.

Onto the next:

Being Creative to Keep my Sanity – Dishwasher detergent

Click on “Being Creative …” for link.

I did this one a bit differently, only in that I cut the “recipe” in 1/2. Luckily I had my super awesome math husband home, because weight is different than measuring cups.

Basically, what we ended up using was:

4 cups Borax

3 cups A&H Washing Soda

12 packages store brand unsweetened lemonade packets (it has to be lemonade, for the citric acid … you may also be able to find citric acid somewhere like where the canning stuff is)

1 1/2 cups epsom salts

And how much of this stuff? ONE TABLESPOON per load!! And it works really well! The blogger also recommends using LemiShine, by just sprinkling a tablespoon in the bottom of your dishwasher. The LemiShine costs about $3.66 for a container. The grand total for this recipe? $4.75 + tax (not including the LemiShine)! I bought everything at WalMart.

I am really glad that I tried these recipes, they work really well, and are super cheap to make. Let me know if you try them, and what you think. Happy Washing!! ~ Jackie

 

2 Responses to “Homemade laundry detergent and dishwashing detergent!!”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Do you guys have an HE washing machine? I wonder if you can use this detergent as regular and HE.

    • theluces Says:

      Wendy,
      The reviews have people using it in their front loaders (I have a very inexpensive old school top loader) and use just 1 tbsp. Be sure to check your manual though, that it doesn’t void a warranty.
      Jackie


Leave a Reply

