One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Best stove top cleaner EVER!! January 13, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 6:07 pm

As Brian was heading home, I was getting busy doing all kinds of cleaning that I knew he really wouldn’t even notice. Like vacuuming the tops of the ledges in our house, the tops of door frames, the sections of our paneled doors, the inside and top of the fridge, the inside and top of the stove … all of this REALLY needed to be done. Especially after tiling most of the house on his last deployment, well, that has nothing to do with the inside of the fridge and the stove though.

Anywho, I took a few pictures to show the process of cleaning the stove top.

I’ll spare you the endless pictures of all of the burner covers and stove top … but seriously, I should be ashamed of myself. The little black spots on the edges of the center caps are scratches. I found this little gem of a tip online somewhere:

AMMONIA! You seal your burner covers (or whatever other removable parts of your stove top) in a large ziplock bag with a small dish of ammonia. Leave them in there overnight and the fumes magically soften and lift the burnt gunk from the parts. You just take them out and rinse them off, maybe a little easy scrubbing. The center caps took me about 30 seconds total to clean off. Best tip ever!! And it’s super cheap, a little over a $1 for a jug of it.

We’ve been enjoying our time with Brian at home. We’ve been going to the gym (at the same time anyway, I do a class and he goes and runs), he walks Sophie to the bus stop, drives Emma to school, and he’s been busy building us a bean bag toss (aka CORNHOLE) set. He also replaced the light fixture in the kitchen that I broke. And, completely not typical on his return … all of his gear is washed and put away already. This guy is seriously on the ball. I need to step up my game.

Ok, I better sign off. We are all watching Mr. Popper’s Penguins tonight. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!  ~ Jackie

PS: Brian did notice the stove AND the fridge being spotless 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

