One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Our poor kids … December 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 6:30 pm

For some reason, today at naptime, I was thinking about how different it is for my kids, than it was for me at their ages. First of all, our lives will naturally be quite different, because growing up, I lived 18 miles away from the nearest “big” town (“big” as in population … ? 3000 I think), on a farm, with our nearest neighbor about a mile away. It was super peaceful, super safe, and we spent a lot of time outside by ourselves (me and my 2 sisters). We had 3 playhouses (I kid you not, every girl’s dream!!). They were actually old wooden graineries, and one was actually an outhouse (it wasn’t actually used as an outhouse … or it wasn’t supposed to have been anyway …). They were totally decked out. We had a couch (that was an old pickup seat) and a fridge (that was an old cabinet), if I remember correctly, we even had a desk and chair in there. One of them was a small building that had a bunk built in it and we called that the “cabin”. We had a really old pickup that we would use to “drive to town”. So, clearly, my kids could not have quite the setup that we had growing up, since we live in town on a really small lot (for now).

But really I was thinking more about other things, like the excitement of Saturday morning cartoons. We were always excited to get home from school and watch Scooby Doo (Joan) or Mr. Rogers (me) and have lunch (because we had breakfast, dinner, LUNCH -which was an after school snack-, and supper). Then came on grown up boring stuff and the news, so we had no choice but to go do other things that required some imagination. And then SATURDAY MORNING CARTOONS … I remember at least a couple times, my sister and I getting up when there was still static on tv, so we could watch them from the very beginning. I’m not going to go into how much better our cartoons were back then, because it’s all relative … kids now think our cartoons were really weird, and we think theirs are too (but Yo Gabba Gabba! is pretty awesome!). Our kids will never know how exciting Saturday morning was, because they have all kinds of cartoon networks playing cartoons 24/7. There’s no static! If they don’t have their favorite on tv at the moment, they can watch it online, or on DVD.

They’ll never know the excitement of listening to the top 8 at 8, really hoping that your favorite song comes on so you can push record on your tape recorder, and how excited you are when you actually get it recorded (until you find out that your sister taped a fart into the middle of your song). But, it’s pretty awesome to be able to go to Itunes and download your song for a little over a dollar and have it instantly too.

If I think about it too much, it makes me a little sad that my kids don’t get to go through all of their school years with the same kids. But when I think about it a little more, I’m more excited for them that they have lived in 4 different states (with more to come) and have gotten to have a lot of really neat experiences.

I really don’t think “my poor kids” … they really have great imaginations even though they don’t have multiple playhouses (ask anyone who has spent any time at all with them, haha!). And they still love their Saturday’s even though they’ve never watched the static until the cartoons start. I guess it’s our version of “I had to walk uphill both ways to school and home again” that we used to hear from our parents or our parent’s parents. How quickly the times change. I wonder what they will be telling THEIR kids someday …

I hope you all are having a great week! ~ Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

