One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Happy Holidays!! November 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 12:47 pm

It was definitely a different Thanksgiving day in the Luce house this year. Of course, mainly, that Brian was gone, but also that his mom and stepdad were not here. It has become our tradition that they come and spend Thanksgiving with us, but they’ve had a lot to deal with with their home flooding again this year. The usual Thanksgiving trip was just not in the cards this year, but we’ll get to see them in about 2 months and be happy for whatever time we get with them. VERY much looking forward to them coming!!

We took the dogs to the dog park in the morning. It was beautiful out and they had a great time with all the other dogs there. Then we headed home for a light lunch and for the girls to take naps. I went for a run and it was so different smelling all the different turkeys cooking. After I got back home, Tyler and I went outside to decorate the front of the house/yard. He was going to hang the lights on the house, but pretty quickly decided that he wasn’t going to as he kept sliding down the roof. It is not that important to me that the house is lit. So, he lit up the yard instead. I think he did a great job.

Then, the girls got up and we had our Thanksgiving feast. I tried to make the mashed potatoes that Brian makes, and Tyler and Sophie think I did a pretty good job. The rotisserie turkey breast was REALLY good. Tyler and I cleaned up and the girls were SO excited to get decorating. Tyler put up the tree and I cleaned off the mantle, and then the girls got to put ornaments on and they did an awesome job. I didn’t even go back and rearrange after they went to bed đŸ™‚

After some serious decorating, it was time for Thanksgiving Root Beer Floats for the kids.

It was a very nice day, the four of us spending the whole day together, making some memories. As a matter of fact, Sophie told her Auntie Joan that it was the best day of her life. She really loved putting up ornaments, digging through the boxes of Christmas stuff, and wearing the tree skirt as a cape and dancing to Christmas music. Emma loved all the glitter. Tyler did a great job putting up the tree and “fluffing” it.

I couldn’t bring myself to pay $25+ for a wreath to hang on the door, and couldn’t find one I loved, so I made one this year. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, and it was so easy to make.

I hope you all had a great day, surrounded with those you love, and filling your bellies with delicious food, and reflecting on how much we all have to be thankful for.

Lots of love ~ Jackie

PS: Tyler was thankful for the roof over his head and his family.

 

One Response to “Happy Holidays!!”

  1. My thoughts are with you! Loved this post. Your Kids are adorable and you are so blessed! Cant wait to see you in January! Hugs*****


Leave a Reply

