One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

We are about to get Christmas crazy November 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 7:25 pm

But first we shall celebrate all that we are thankful for.

Sophie is thankful for her Daddy, her Mama, her brother and sister, her grandpas and grandmas, and cousins … and that’s about it.

Tyler is busy with a friend staying over, so we’ll talk tomorrow about what he is thankful for.

I am thankful for 3 happy, healthy children who are 100% different from each other in almost every way (except Emma really looks like her big brother, just a blonde instead). Tyler is my mellow, quiet man-child. He’s been my sidekick since day 1 and I can not stand the thought of him being off on his own in 3 1/2 years. Sophie is my drama queen and challenge. She has the best laugh ever and I can look into her eyes and see her Daddy. Her personality is completely opposite of mine, so we already butt heads quite a bit, but she reminds me so much of my sister and she’s one of the best people I know. Emma is my reality check. She is the one that throws me for a loop at every turn. She has made me see how precious life is and not take that for granted. She has also been showing me lately how crazy smart she is and made me realize I need to step up my game … she’s gaining on me!

I am thankful for the best husband a girl could ask for. Even though he’s been gone from us way too much of this year, he is always present. I know how hard it is on him to be away from us, he misses every one of us while we each miss him. He is the best support system ever, even when he’s on the other side of the world. I could not love and appreciate him more.

I am thankful for my parents and sisters. They are always a phone call away and while they can’t get away as often as I would like for them to, they are amazing and full of love and honesty.

I am thankful for all of my in-laws. I have married into the most loving, kind family. They have accepted me (I think) and all my flaws with open arms. I know plenty of people that don’t have the relationship I do with their in-laws, and I don’t take it for granted for a second.

I am thankful for my friends. They, especially after marrying into the military, span the US and each of them add so much to my life. A girl needs her friends, and I’ve got some really top notch friends!!

So, tomorrow, I will get busy heating up our rotisserie turkey breast that I was lucky enough to get today and feast on that and some mashed potatoes and carrots (Sophie’s request) and broccoli (Emma’s request) and pumpkin pie (mine and Emma’s request) and root beer floats (Tyler’s request). After all that, and some serious cleaning thrown in during the day, we are going to get CHRISTMAS CRAZY in here. I haven’t gone too crazy at Christmas since we moved to Florida … I just haven’t felt it. But this year, I’m going all out and we are going to have it decorated to the nines for when Brian gets home next year.

I hope you all have a wonderful day tomorrow. As soon as we are done with our thanksgiving feast tomorrow, I am going to break out my Harry Connick Jr, Harry for the Holidays CD and I am going to CHRISTMAS JAM.

Lots of holiday love ~ Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

