One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Ignorance is Bliss November 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 8:24 am

By giving us the opinions of the uneducated, journalism keeps us in touch with the ignorance of the community. – Oscar Wilde

I can’t believe that our next election is officially less than a year away. Well, I can believe it, but I guess what I’m really getting at is I can’t believe how fast the last 3 years have gone. I remember laying in bed, watching TV all evening, and how emotional it was. Then, I remember Tyler coming home from school the next day and telling me the awful things the other kids were saying about our new president … he was in SIXTH GRADE. The pure hate that parent’s were influencing their children with was absolutely disgusting. Of course our children take their cues from us, the things these kids were saying should NEVER have come out of anyone’s mouth. Those parents should have been so ashamed of themselves, but people that can speak such evil clearly have no scruples.

What I see happening over the next year, unfortunately, is a whole lot of ugliness. I happen to like politics. I, fortunately, was raised in  a family where my Dad really gets into politics, and while he definitely leans one way, he is always sure to be fully informed on all sides of the equation. I know that if I have any questions, I can call him and he is going to tell me both sides of the story. I really love that about him.

My wishes over the next year? I WISH that people would do their homework. Rather than recycling garbage, actually find out what is going on. Maybe it puts it in perspective a little to know what “ignorance” is. Ignorance, by definition, is a lack of knowledge, information, or education. So, while it is your “right” to say or post or email out whatever you want, when you don’t actually educate yourself as to what you are actually spreading to your “friends”, you are being ignorant. I personally would not ever want to be labeled as ignorant. Therefore, I try to do whatever I can to actually have some background on what I may post or talk about.

Of course we are all entitled to our opinion. But remember, opinion, by definition, is a view or judgment formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge. Wouldn’t you rather know the facts or have knowledge before you make comments? I sure would. I would rather form my opinions on facts and knowledge.

Is ignorance really bliss? I don’t think so, I think ignorance is ignorance, and I really think that is an ugly word.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!! ~ Jackie
 

 

Leave a Reply

