One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Happy Halloween!! October 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 11:37 am

I hope you all are having a fabulous Halloween!! The girls were super excited to get their costumes on IMMEDIATELY this morning. Sophie was having her usual costume parade at school, and Emma’s school hadn’t said anything about the kids wearing theirs, so I just risked it and she was fine to wear it (but may have been the only kid in her class actually IN costume). For some reason, I can’t get a picture of them that isn’t slightly blurry.

I’m not sure if Sophie was more excited about the costume or the fact that she had on black “lipstick”, either way, she was really happy about today.

Today I did Week 1 Day 1 of the C25K program (couch to 5 k). It’s only 31 minutes and starts with a warm up walk, followed by intervals of running and walking, and then a cool down walk. In theory it is very simple, and you don’t even run all that much to start out. In reality, it kicked my ass. Or I should say my lungs. My legs can handle it, but my lungs feel like they are going to explode. I need to be working on my deep breathing to get my lungs back in shape … they really let me down today.

I also made a fantastic addition to my smoothies today. I’ve been trying to figure out what else I can add to them, but not yogurt, or more fruit. I would like protein, but not protein powder. Not soy, because I don’t want the extra estrogen. And wah-lah!! I happened to see it on Pinterest last night and added it today and I LOVE IT!! Wait for it … OATMEAL!! I pulsed mine in the blender first to make it into a powder, but it would just depend on how much texture you like. It’s very smooth this way. It adds a little bit of a nutty flavor and adds some protein and fiber, therefore my smoothie is more filling. It’s perfect!

Well, I suppose I better get a couple things done around here before I need to go get Emma (who I am to refer to as Minnie for the day, per her instructions). We have day 2 of music lessons today, the start of Tyler’s last week of cross country for his freshman year, and then home for some trick or treating!! Busy day, I better get moving 🙂

Have a spooktacular day!! ~ Jackie

 

2 Responses to “Happy Halloween!!”

  1. Cristen Says:

    I’ve done the C25K and it’s been good for me. I have since developed a love of running. The girls look great in their outfits. I love smoothies but I don’t find them filling. I’m going to try the oatmeal trick. Gonna go browse pintrest since you mentioned it 🙂

    • theluces Says:

      Thanks Cristen! They LOOOOVE dressing up! Today was way harder than it seemed it would be, but I’m going to try REALLY hard to stick with it! I am not the best veggie eater, so I drink smoothies to get some extra. I wouldn’t say they fill me up, but I have it as a morning snack after I work out. I only put between a 1/4-1/2 cup of oatmeal in there and I’ll put more next time.


Leave a Reply

