One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

It’s a better day October 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 9:33 am

So, despite the early to mid part of my day yesterday sucking, it ended up being a good day. Tyler is not mad at me, and knows what he needs to do 1: to get his xbox back and 2: what is expected of him (not that he didn’t already know … but sometimes these things need to be reiterated). He’s back to normal, my wonderful, considerate young man.

I made some soup yesterday that I LOVE and haven’t made in the longest time. It’s healthy, super easy, and is ready in a matter of minutes.

Yummy Salsa and Black Bean Soup with a dollop of sour cream on top. All it is, is 1 cup of salsa, 2 cans black beans (drained and rinsed), and 2 cups of chicken (or vegetable) broth. You heat the salsa, add the beans and broth. Bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes. Then put 1/2 of the soup (cooled a bit) into a blender or food processor, then add back. Done. You could put some tortilla chips and shredded cheese on it too if you want. But it’s awesome, and good for you, and SO easy. I don’t know why I haven’t made this in years. It’s back on rotation.

Like I said, we ended up having a good day. The girls kept pretty busy playing me songs on the piano, made lots of pictures, had good naps. Tyler stayed overnight with one of his friends so the girls and I watched Rango. They thought it was great, a few creepy parts, but they both sat, snuggled up with me, through the whole thing.

Then it was bedtime.

We were up til 9:00 watching the movie, so Emma was out in a matter of minutes. I guess Piggy, Elisabeth, and Bailey help her sleep really well 🙂

Well, my yummy steel cut oats are ready, so time for some breakfast and then some Sunday yoga then grocery shopping. We have a playdate later with one of Emma’s buddies from school. It’s supposed to be in the mid 70s today … should be very nice.

I hope y’all have a great Sunday! ~ Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

