One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Decisions, decisions October 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 11:16 am

I need some advice today.

Yesterday I got the girls signed up for cheer, and totally unexpectedly found out that since B is deployed, they don’t charge us for it. It is free. So, now that it was no money out of our pocket, I am left with still being able to put the girls back in gymnastics … or in music lessons. Sophie has already said she would rather to music than gymnastics and I think Emma would also be excited about it. While I think the girls (especially Emma) being as active as possible is extremely important, I also think the proven benefits of having kids in music programs is huge.

I assumed that Sophie would immediately pick drums, because the girls are both in complete awe of watching the drumline practice while we wait to pick Tyler up from cross country practice. I could already see her …

The girls are both real go-getters and I know will dive into whatever we choose. But they both march to their own drum (no pun intended) and I can also see it backfiring on me ….

Ok, I kid, kind of.

Also, I made the mistake of trying the Starbucks iced coffee packets. You just dump it into a bottle of water and shake it up, except I put it in a big glass and added a little cream, and it was delicious. Unfortunately for me, 4 pm is obviously way too late for me to drink caffeine, even though I only ended up drinking half of it. I was still tossing and turning at 3 am. Not good for the home team. I need to stay busy today, or I’m gonna crash hard.

So, I welcome anyone’s thoughts on the music lessons vs gymnastics… I know which way I’m leaning. Also in defense of the gymnastics, we’ve gone to US Gold for the past 2 years, and they are awesome. The girls have excelled and I know would continue to do so, I just think there are huge benefits to the music aspect too. Agh! What to do?

I hope you all are having a great day! ~ Jackie

 

One Response to “Decisions, decisions”

  1. charity Says:

    So….coming from someone who LOVES gymnastics and was also in gymnastics and also had a super star cousin gymnast, I would still pick music over that. I say at least for now, they will get exercise with cheer. Music is something that lasts for the rest of your life. You will NEVER be sorry that they took it. Gymnastics is awesome, but the chances that its going to be something the will benefit from years down the road, are quite a bit slimmer. My cousin went to collage on it, but thats not typical and since graduating from college, has done nothing with it. Just my opinion. BTW, the Starbucks cold and hot packets have been my guilty addiction since they came out. LOVE THEM and love you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

