One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

The People Who Want to Stay October 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 1:50 pm

A wonderful friend of mine and I were talking one morning a couple weeks ago and the subject of friendships, more importantly whether they stand the test of time, came up. Ironically, about a week later, I came across this image:

Wow. How totally true is that?! Friendships for a military spouse can be such a challenge. I’m definitely not saying this is exclusive to a military spouse, but we deal with this over and over. A move to a new place where you know no one (or very few people) other than the members of your household is tough. I was really lucky on this last move and had 2 good friends who were already here, of course one of those has since moved on (insert BIG sad face here!!). It is amazing though, in moving away, the tears that are shed, the promises that are made, and then ultimately, how little effort is made to maintain a friendship.

I am a chatty Kathy, and I have no problem picking up the phone and spending a bit of my 3.5 hours of “me time” catching up with one of my now far away friends. It’s important. I want the people in my life to know that they are important to me, that what is going on in their lives is very important to me. I want to know about their children and all the latest going on in their lives. This is part of being a military family. My family is 31 hours away from us, Brian’s is 22. It is not very often that we see our families, and you learn to build your military family. You build your support network of other mom’s that have your back and will take your kids on a moment’s notice, because they know that you would do the same for them. And a lot of the time, these people become your friends for life.

And sometimes not. And it hurts. A lot. We all have busy lives. But we also have a 1/2 an hour (or more, or less) that we can put aside and call a dear friend and let them know we are thinking of them and would love to catch up. So, on this beautiful Sunday, take the time to catch up with a friend that you haven’t called in way too long, or shoot them a text and make a phone date for sometime this week. Because it’s so true: The people who want to stay in your life, will always find a way.

Happy Sunday everyone!! ~ Jackie

 

 

Leave a Reply

