One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Day 3, I’m really on a roll here! September 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 2:38 pm

Can y’all believe it?! THREE whole days in a row, only 18 to go till it’s a habit 🙂

So, my next item on the What not to say to a Military Spouse list, that is actually relevant or I’ve actually heard it: Will he be home for Christmas/holidays/birthdays/anniversary/etc?

NO. They don’t just get to come home for events. We are fortunately part of a squadron that our deployments are shorter and a child’s birth is never missed (now that I say never, some lil one will decide to make his/her entrance surprisingly early and make me a liar), but that doesn’t mean any of these other days are worked around. Again, perspective. I know that firsts (birthdays, Christmases, etc) are very sentimental, and that is a tough thing to miss. BUT the beauty of it is that they are so little, that they have no idea, and you can work around it. You have your Christmas early or late, you celebrate a birthday when your spouse gets home. We were so lucky that Brian got home from his last deployment ON Emma’s 4th birthday, Daddy for a present!! But in all honesty, unless a kid’s birthday falls ON the weekend, when do we really celebrate their birthday (meaning their party) ON THEIR BIRTHDAY?! It’s ok, all they really care about is that they get a party and some presents and they really don’t care the exact date. You learn to roll with it.

I won’t lie, Christmas this year may suck. It will suck for multiple reasons though. I am sad that Brian won’t be here for it, but that just adds to the sucky-ness of the day for me. Christmas has not felt like Christmas for me in 7 years. After 29 years of a white Christmas, surrounded by most of my mom’s (large) family, it’s just not the same. I love watching my kids open their presents, but I miss the house being full of family of all ages, playing dice or cards, eating way too much food … all of it. Of course spring, fall, and winter in Florida = great weather, but it’s not Christmas weather. That’s enough of my pity party, I just love (ND) home at Christmas time 🙂

Ok, I better get the mutts walked before they drive me nuts and get dinner in the crock pot (hopefully the Ranch Bacon Chicken will be a hit). Love to you all!! ~ Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

