One Happy Family

Living life, military style!!

Big day!! April 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — theluces @ 3:10 pm

Brian had a big day today … he finally got his back brace and in the late afternoon was finally able to get into a wheelchair and get some fresh air. I think he was feeling like he’d be up and at’em, but quickly found out that it wasn’t that easy. He got real light headed and nauseous, which is totally normal after over a week on your back, but he was so happy to get up. There is a courtyard very close to his room, so he was able to sit out in the open air, and then went and saw Chris, the flight engineer, for a few minutes. Then we went back to his room and he was exhausted. Hopefully in the next couple days we’ll get the system down a bit better and the next big “to do” on his list will be a shower … which will feel amazing!! He’ll have physical therapy over the weekend, so now just slow and steady. My biggest concern is that he pushes himself too hard.

His mom and stepdad left yesterday, to get down to the kids (and give the amazing Eaton’s their life back … they are so great!!). Rusty and Andria (Brian’s dad and sister) got here yesterday and will be here for the weekend. A few of Brian’s college friends came thru yesterday and that really makes his face light up. I can’t say enough how thankful we are for all the support we have, we are so lucky! And, so thankful for Larry, Brian’s roommate all the way back from pilot training, that has been my go-to guy thru all of this. He’s been my personal chauffeur and paper work do-er, travel companion … I couldn’t possibly thank him enough. He’ll be so glad to get back to his awesome wife Renee and to their kids, I know he misses them tons (me too!!).

Alright … since Brian is surrounded by family and some friends, I get to get away for a bit today (and give Brian a break from me). Thank you, thank you, thank you all for everything!! Jackie

 

4 Responses to “Big day!!”

  1. Mike & Janet George Says:

    Brian/Jackie

    We were down visiting Joe & Heather last weekend and they told us about the accident. I had actually seen that an Osprey had gone down in the paper the day before. We were very upset, but glad to hear that you were “okay”. I spoke to Joe yesterday and he told me you were in good spirits but very sore. Janet and I want to thank you both for the tremedous sacrifice you are making and wish you a speedy recovery. You are in our prayers.

    Warm regards,

    Mike and Janet George

  2. Renee Says:

    You are the awesome one! I miss my husband but am so glad he can be there with you and Brian. I love you guys and miss you!

  3. Sheila Says:

    HUGS to you both! Glad to hear Brian is able to air out! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a shower next! Hang in there short pants! I am sooo thankful my dear friend will make a speedy recovery! I’ll keep sending positive thoughts and prayers to you both! Thanks for taking the time to update all of us!! It is appreciated!

  4. Kim Says:

    great to hear things are moving along.our thoughts and prayers are with you. love you guys.


Leave a Reply

